Home > About Us

The Los Angeles Jazz Society was founded in 1983 by a group of musicians & jazz lovers committed to elevating the image of jazz & its artists in the community.

The mission of the Los Angeles Jazz Society is to excite, educate & engage public school students with the vibrant rhythms & sounds of the only uniquely American music – jazz.  We present multi-cultural & interactive in-school & off-campus jazz education programs.  We also promote & honor the legacy of jazz & ensure its future by identifying & nurturing the emerging jazz musicians of tomorrow.

The Los Angeles Jazz Society is a California nonprofit, educational corporation organized under the laws of the State of California, & under section 501C (3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

The primary focus of the organization is on jazz education for young people; to identify & nurture emerging jazz musicians & to help create future audiences by stimulating an appreciation for jazz through its education programs.


Board of Trustees


“Flip” Manne  Chair John Clayton  Artistic Chair Lois Saffian President; Director of Development Larry Hathaway  Vice President, Director - Bill Green Mentorship Program Rita Zwern Treasurer, Director - Jazz In Schools Max Wrightson Secretary Teri Merrill-Aarons* Founder David L. Abell* Chairman


Barbara Abell Howard Banchik James Barrall Alan and Mariyln Bergman Barbara Catlin Darlene Chan John Clayton Shari Hoffman Stephanie Levine Quincy Jones Maribel Louie Linda Moody Peter J. Marx, esq Alan Sieroty Anthony White



Lauren Baba Loren Battley Rose Mary Beane Julie Berghofer - Membership Sara Gazarek Yum Kane Terry Lloyd Mark Christian Miller - Social Media Ira Nepus Jonathan Richards

Scherr Lillico, Brianne Dobkins The Proper ImageOrganization Management 818-994-JAZZ(5299)