Home > Events > LA Jazz Society’s 29th Anniversary Jazz Tribute Awards
01 March, 2018
3:49 AM
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, 555 Universal Hollywood Dr Universal City, CA 91608

LA Jazz Society’s 29th Anniversary Jazz Tribute Awards


WAYNE SHORTER, Multiple Grammy Award Winner,

Saxophonist & Composer, 2012 Jazz Tribute Honoree


The Los Angeles Jazz Society’s (LAJS) 29th Annual Jazz Tribute Awards Dinner & Concert took place on Sunday, October 21, 2012, at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City with over 450 attending. Wayne Shorter, multiple Grammy Award winner, saxophonist and composer, was not only the 2012 Jazz Tribute Honoree, but performed with The Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz Performance Ensemble. Leonard Maltin, respected film critic, historian and jazz aficionado was the evening’s host. LAJS’ 2012 Jazz Tribute awardees included Lifetime Achievement Award recipient John Pisano; Composer/Arranger Award recipient Gordon Goodwin; Jazz Vocalist Award went to Denise Donatelli; the David L. Abell Angel Award recipient was attorney Jim Barrall; Jazz Educator Award recipients were saxophonist, composer and arranger Roger Neumann & professional jazz trombonist Scott Whitfield, Teri Merrill-Aarons Founder Award recipient was Steamers Jazz Club owner Terence Love, and Shelly Manne Memorial New Talent Award recipient was 14 year old pianist Jamael Dana Dean.  The Jazz Tribute also includes special guest presenters, Patti Austin, Jeff Hamilton, Larry Hathaway, Barbara Morrison, Bob Barry, Don Heckman, Gregg Field and Johnny Mandel.

The Annual Jazz Tribute Awards Dinner & Concert was established to recognize and honor Los Angeles based artists for their contributions in furthering the art form of jazz. This major fund-raising event attracts musicians and jazz lovers from all over Southern California and supports the general operations of the organization and its education programs – including Jazz in Schools and Bill Green Mentorship Program.

Evening Included 2 hour Concert with Honoree and other Awardees

The Tribute Committee has been skillfully chaired for many years by Lois Saffian. Thank you Lois!!!