Home > Past Events

The L.A. Jazz Society joined with LACMA in presenting the 8th annual L.A. Jazz Treasure Award to the multi-talented flutist, Hubert Laws, on September. The plaza was filled early in the afternoon for the 6:00 concert honoring this great artist. After a welcome by the director of the LACMA jazz concerts, Mitch Glickman, the evening’s performances began with a quartette featuring the LAJS Mentorship graduate and 2015 recipient of the Shelly Manne Memorial New Talent Award, bassist Julian Gomez. Joining him were other Mentorship graduates, Ari Chais, piano and Alec Smith, drums. The brilliant young trumpeter, Evan Abounasser, will be the recipient of this year’s Shelly Manne New Talent Award which will be presented at the Jazz Tribute Awards on November 19th.

Jazz Society president, Flip Manne, and Mitch Glickman from LACMA, invited Hubert Laws to receive his 2016 L.A. Jazz Treasure Award. He returned to his seat as the evening’s band consisting of Rod Mullins and Christian Jacob, piano; John Leftwich, bass; Larry Koonse, guitar; and Ray Brinker, drums performed Windows and Moment’s Notice. With a change of pace, Christian Jacob played the Stravinsky Etude #4 in F#.

The audience welcomed0 Tierney Sutton, to the stage who opened with her beautiful rendition of Amazing Grace. With flute in hand, Hubert Laws then mounted the stage and thus began one musical treat after another, including classics Airegin and Joy Spring. A highlight was the beautiful rendition of Zingaro with Hubert, Tierney and Larry Koonse on guitar.

Another beautiful evening dedicated to Jazz!